ACSC/APF 2015 Forum Programme

Wisma MCA, Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Day 1
21 Apr 2015
Day 2
22 Apr 2015
Day 3
23 Apr 2015
Day 4
24 Apr 2015

Pre-Event Workshops

  1. ASEAN Women’s Caucus
  2. Internet Rights & Governance in ASEAN
  3. WITNESS – Hands on documentation of Human Rights Violation
  4. The struggle for democracy in Thailand and its impact on ASEAN

A Town Hall Open Discussion Between Civil Society and Parliamentarians (APHR)

Moderator : Rama Ramanathan Parliamentarians :
  1. U Shwe Maung, MP USDP, Myanmar
  2. Charles Santiago, Democratic Action Party, Malaysia
  3. Nur Jazlan Mohamad, UMNO, Malaysia
  4. Diah Pitaloka, Democratic Party-Struggle, Indonesia
  5. Charles Chong, People’s Action Party, Singapore
  6. Mu Sochua, Cambodia National Rescue Party, Cambodia
  7. Kraisak Choonhavan, Democrat Party, Thailand
CSO Discussant :
  1. Maria Chin, Chairperson, Bersih
  2. Ms. Nguyen Thi Hoang Van, Vietnam Union of Friendship Organizations (VUFO)
16:30 - 17:00

Tea / Coffee Break

Opening of APF: “Welcome to Malaysia”

Moderator: Sharaad Kuttan, BFM Opening speech by Jerald Joseph, APF Chair
  1. Ambiga Sreenevasan, former Chair of BAR Council
  2. Professor  Johan Saravanamuttu
  3. Sabariah Yusri, Deputy Chair, Belia Jaringan Orang Asal (JOAS)

Welcome Dinner

  1. Reaffirmation of  CSO Final Statement
  2. Welcome speech by Jerald Joseph, APF Chair
  3. Dato’ Sri Liow Tiong Lai, Minister of Transport
  4. Tun Abdullah bin Haji Ahmad Badawi, former Prime Minister, Malaysia
Performance  : Sabah Dance; Sarawak Dance. Myanmar Dance

Plenary Session #1: Towards a People-Centered ASEAN

Moderator: Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah
  • Address by Datuk Paul Low Minister in the Prime Minister's Department, on behalf of the Prime Minister, Chair of ASEAN
  • & Question and Answer with CSOs
10:30 - 11:00

Tea / Coffee Break

Plenary Session #2: Reclaiming the ASEAN Community for the People

Moderator: Yap Swee Seng (Malaysia)
  1. Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar (HUMANITI, Malaysia)
  2. Alissa Wahid (Gusdurian Network, Indonesia)
  3. Daw Seng Raw Lahpai (Myanmar)
  4. Zelda Soriano (Greenpeace South East Asia, Phillipines)

Luncheon Talk

Y.A.B. Azmin Ali, Chief Minister, State of Selangor, Malaysia

Plenary Session #3: Where Should People be in the ASEAN Economic Community

Moderator: Gus Miclat, Philippines
  •   Hon. Corazon Juliano-Soliman
  •   Secretary, Department of Social Welfare and Development
  •   On behalf of the Office of The President, Republic of the Philippines
  •   & Question and Answer with CSOs
10:00 - 10:30

Tea / Coffee Break

Plenary Session #4: Making AEC People-Responsive

Moderator: Premrudee Daoroung (Thailand)
  1. Dr. Seree (AICHR Thailand)
  2. Tan Sri Dr Munir Majid (Chair of ASEAN Business Council)
  3. Anthony Tujan (IBON, Philippines)
  4. Eni Lestari (International Migrants Alliance, Indonesia)
12:00 - 14:00


Parallel Workshop Series 3

Closing Plenary: ACSC/APF Recommendations Monitoring and ASEAN Post 2015 Agendas Moderator : Pengiran Datin Paduka Hajah Mariam Pg Hj Matarsat , Brunei Darusalam
    1. Thida Khus (FCAA )
    2. Corinna (Forum-Asia Review of CS Recommendations vis Post 2015 Agendas)
16:30 - 17:00

Press Conference / Tea break


Moderator : Wathshlah Naidu
  1. Minister of Foreign Affairs, Malaysia (TBC)
  2. H.E. Dr. AKP Mochtan, ASEAN Deputy Sec. Gen. speaking on behalf of the ASEAN Sec. Gen.
  3. Tan Sri Hasmy Agam, SUHAKAM

APF 2015 Programme

Click here to download the full programme. Last updated 19 April 2015.

Download the programme here



Final Workshop Sessions

Click here to view the workshop sessions. Last updated 19 April 2015.